Board of Directors

Graham Love*

Graham Love was appointed to the board on 1 January 2019. He has previously chaired a number of successful businesses, including LGC, Eversholt Rail, SLR Consulting and Xendo. Prior to pursuing a plural career, Graham had an extensive international executive career, lastly as Chief Executive of QinetiQ Plc from 2005 to 2009. He is a long term trustee of STEMNET, and a Senior Adviser to The Chertoff Group.

Graham is a graduate of Cambridge University. He is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants, and of the Royal Aeronautical Society.


Xenia Carr-Griffiths *

Xenia Carr-Griffiths was appointed to the Board of The Royal Mint as Non-Executive Director in October 2013.  She has over thirty years’ experience in the retail and luxury consumer brands space.  Xenia has been a main Board Director of Harrods Ltd, and subsequently President of EMEA Links (London) Ltd where she developed a multi-channel international business.  She is a graduate of Durham University.


Michael Clayforth Carr *

Michael Clayforth-Carr began his career as an engineer with Rolls-Royce and has over 30 years’ experience in international sales, marketing and general management, holding senior positions with companies such as De La Rue plc and Bell & Howell. He is currently UK Executive Vice President for the Security & Information Systems Division and Chairman of an international arm of a major international Aerospace, Security and Defence company. Michael has been the Chair of a number of security related councils including Chair of the Security Sector Advisory Group for UKTI; he is currently an elected security adviser on the ADS Trade Association Council.

Michael holds an MSc in Design Engineering from Cranfield and an MBA from Cranfield School of Management and is a Fellow of the Royal Aeronautical Society.


Jamie Carter *

Jamie has worked as an Executive Director for UK Government Investments since October 2016, where he also leads the teams managing the government’s shareholding in the British Business Bank and the Nuclear Decommissioning Authority. Prior to joining UKGI he spent more than 10 years at HM Treasury where he specialised in public spending, including being involved in several spending reviews and infrastructure policy. During this period, Jamie took a 2 year career break to work as a Governance Specialist at the World Bank based in Jakarta.


David Morgan *

David Morgan has had wide ranging board and senior management experience in a number of industries. Having trained as a chartered accountant with KPMG, he then spent over 20 years with Johnson Matthey plc, a global precious metals and chemicals business and was Executive Director, Corporate Development, from 1999 to 2009. He is a Non-Executive Director of Nord Gold NV and of Hargreaves Services plc, as well as a number of other companies both public and private. His career has involved both general and financial management and he has had M&A experience in all parts of the world. David was appointed to The Royal Mint Board in September 2013.


Cheryl Toner  *

Cheryl Toner was appointed to the Board of The Royal Mint in March 2019. She has over 25 years’ experience in marketing and communications and is currently Marketing Director, Personal Banking at RBS. Prior to this Cheryl was CMO at AXA UK where particular areas of focus were building a trusted brand and using digital to improve customer experience.

Cheryl is a graduate of University College London and holds an MBA from Cranfield School of Management.


Bill Spencer *

Bill Spencer was appointed to the Board of The Royal Mint as a Non-Executive Director on 18th May 2020. He is currently also a Non-Executive Director and the Audit Committee Chairman at Ricardo plc.

Bill began his non-executive career over ten years ago and has wide ranging experience, having been the Senior Independent Non-Executive Director and Audit Committee Chairman at Northgate plc and Exova plc. He was also previously a Non-Executive Director and the Audit Committee Chairman of UK Mail Group plc and was a Non-Executive Finance Committee Member at the Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors.  

A significant part of Bill’s executive career was spent at Intertek Group plc, a FTSE 100 company, where he was the Chief Financial Officer for 15 years.  Prior to that he held a number of senior financial positions in the manufacturing, technology, and utilities sectors.

Bill has a BSc from the University of Manchester, is a member of the Association of Corporate Treasurers and is a Fellow the Chartered Institute of Management Accountants.


Anne Jessopp
Chief Executive

Anne joined The Royal Mint in 2008 as HR Director.  Anne has worked in HR across a number of sectors, gaining manufacturing experience early in her career at Rolls Royce and Procter and Gamble. She went on to gain consumer experience at Radio Rentals and RAC. She was HR Director of an industrial services company and Remploy, before joining The Royal Mint in 2008 as HR Director. Particular areas of focus during her career have involved working with companies who are developing their culture and undergoing significant change.

Anne has carried out a number of roles at The Royal Mint. Starting as the HR Director, she then went on to lead the core Business services in the organisation for a number of years before becoming Director of Consumer for The Royal Mint in 2015. Anne was proud to be part of the team that launched the organisation’s new visitor attraction, The Royal Mint Experience, in May 2016 which received over 100,000 visitors in its first year. On 16 February 2018, Anne was appointed Chief Executive.

Anne has led the strategic diversification of the business, resulting in significant growth based on understanding customers and delivering the services and products that meet their needs.  This has included: Secure Storage, Gifting, Historics, increasing coin collectors, expanding international relationships, and tourism within The Royal Mint Experience.


Andrew Mills
Director of Circulating Coin Sales

Andrew joined the Royal Mint in 2009 from OpSec Security Limited where he was Managing Director and led a successful turnaround of the European business. Prior to 2004 he held sales and marketing positions with De La Rue, ICI and Kodak including an assignment in the United States with Eastman Kodak Company.


Martin McDade
Director of Finance

An experienced qualified Accountant (FCCA) with over 30 years of experience gained in several senior positions with Playtex, Biwater, Glenfield Valves and AVK. Five years of this time was spent as Finance Director in an MBI team funded by Venture Capitalists (3i/SDF).

He has extensive commercial knowledge gained in the manufacturing sector and joined the Royal Mint in 2006 as Financial Controller.  He then went on to be Head of Finance within Commemorative Coin in 2010.



Nicola Howell
Chief Commercial Officer - Consumer Division.

Nicola started her career within the financial markets, operating for Abbey National and GE Capital. She has a wealth of experience in leadership and has held a number of senior positions which include directing both sales and operations within the Banking and Private Healthcare industries. Nicola is an experienced Sales and Marketing Professional and is also recognised within the UK Finance and Leasing Association (FLA) and Florida State Business School for financial brokerage (FMB).

Nicola joined The Royal Mint in April 2012 as Head of Direct to Consumer Business and was later appointed to lead the wider UK sales division in January 2013. On 16 February 2018, Nicola was appointed Director of Consumer Business.


* Non-Executive Directors

back to top